St Alban's Catholic Primary School

Following in the Footsteps of Jesus we love, live and learn together

Search Search
Translate Translate

EYFS Framework

Early Learning Goals

The EYFS curriculum consists of 17 aspects of learning. At St Alban's we provide our pupils with the opportunities the meet the Early Learning Goals in all of these aspects.


To find out more about the Early Learning Goals click the link below.


The Early Learning Goals are split in to two sections, Prime areas and Specific areas. 


The prime areas are: 

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.


These prime areas are those most essential for a child’s healthy development and future learning.


As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.





Please see below the EYFS Framework - The Early Learning Goals are the expected outcomes for children at the end of Reception.